Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN-BSN)

This guide contains helpful information for those students enrolled in the RN-BSN Program at Goodwin University

Welcome to the BSN Research Starter!

Welcome to the research guide designed especially for students in the RN-to-BSN program at Goodwin University. Information posted here will be aimed at answering the most frequent questions the library gets from students in your program, so you should check here first if you get stuck doing research for an assignment. Of course, no guide can answer all your questions, so feel free to contact a reference librarian.

The following information can be found on this guide:

  • Print and Electronic Books: Access the HFL catalog to locate print and electronic books, and other library materials in our collection.
  • Journal Articles, Magazines, and more: Our top Nursing and Allied Health research databases provide access to full-text articles from over 1,000 professional publications including Nursing Education Perspectives.
  • Relevant Nursing and Allied Health Websites: Provides information on reputable organizations and government agencies that center on the nursing and allied health disciplines.
  • Recommended Resources for APA Style: The ability to write in a scholarly style is an essential skill for nursing students. Research papers written for any nursing course require the use of APA citation style format. Several resources and examples in APA style are offered to assist in properly formatting your papers.

For tough research questions, it may be best to contact your Embedded Librarian, Cynthia Hunt, directly; you can find her contact information to the left of this page.

If you are a Goodwin University student, faculty, or staff member, you are permitted to use the Hoffman Family Library's resources both on and off-campus. Remote (off-campus) access to the library's resources requires you to use your Goodwin Credentials.

Finding Information

Health Sciences Databases

These databases contain varying levels of evidence. Ranging from expert opinions to systematic reviews and meta analyses, these health sciences databases are the best place to start your search. Most of the information in these databases has been peer-reviewed, but most articles have not been evaluated by experts to determine the strength of the evidence. This is called unfiltered information.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

Many evidence-based practice groups publish their findings online.

You can also search for specific Publication Types or Article Types like Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Guideline, or Randomized Controlled Trial in Health Sciences Databases like:

Other Useful Databases

These databases are not focused on nursing, but they may also be useful depending on your topic. This information will also be unfiltered because it has not been appraised by experts.