Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CINAHL Complete

Cinahl covers the journal literature of nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and 17 allied health disciplines

Welcome!

Welcome to the Hoffman Family Library research guide for the CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health) database.

A few things to keep in mind about this guide:

  • This guide will provide you with tips and directions for using CINAHL and to find articles. You will not find the journals or articles themselves in this guide. Do not use the guide's search box to look for articles!
  • It will be helpful to have this guide open in one window, and the database open in another window. That way you can go back and forth for assistance.
  • Don't forget that you can ALWAYS ask your librarian for help! Contact information is on this page as well as within your Blackboard course.

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.

  • Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health
  • Covers 17 allied health disciplines, including nutrition and dietetics, physical therapy, sports medicine, respiratory therapy and public health
  • More than 3.6 million records dating back to 1937
  • Full text for more than 760 journals
  • Full text for more than 275 books/monographs
  • Over 150 interactive continuing educational (CE) modules
  • "Grey literature" such as nursing dissertations and conference proceedings

Additional materials include more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets and nearly 170 Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.

Why use CINAHL?

1. Results are automatically limited to nursing-related resources

2. Fewer results to skim through when compared to searching the open web

3. Built-in tools that help you narrow your search results