LibGuides: Patient Safety and Medical Errors: Welcome

Resources

AHRQ - Patient Safety Network
FDA Safety Alerts
Medical Product Safety Information
MedWatch alerts provide timely new safety information on human drugs, medical devices, vaccines and other biologics, dietary supplements, and cosmetics. The alerts contain actionable information that may impact both treatment and diagnostic choices for healthcare professional and patient.
NIH Clinical Alerts and Advisories
Clinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from clinical trials funded by the NIH (National Institutes of Health), where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality.

CINAHL Complete
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
AJN - American Journal of Nursing
After following the link, if you land on a login page, please enter the following user ID and password to access the content:
User: good999
Password: library

This resource has limited access. You may receive a message about "trying again later" if others are logged in.
ERIC: Education Resource Information Center
Content: Government (Department of Education) database focusing on education research and information.
Purpose: Excellent database to use for all topics in education.
Special Features: After an initial search, filter by audience, grade level, survey used, and main topic. Includes a thesaurus to aid in the discovery process.
MEDLINE with Full Text
The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.
APA PsycINFO
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.
PubMed Central
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality

Patients & Consumers
The latest evidence-based information for improving your health from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Medically Induced Trauma Support Services for Patients and Families
Medically Induced Trauma Support Services (MITSS), Inc. is a non-profit organization founded in June of 2002 whose mission is "To Support Healing and Restore Hope" to patients, families, and clinicians who have been affected by an adverse medical event.
MedlinePlus Patient Safety
My Medicine Record (FDA)
Use this record to keep track of your prescription medicines, over-the-counter medicines and dietary supplements. You can store the record on your personal computer. Keep a printed copy with you at all times; share the record with your doctors, pharmacists, or other health professionals at all visits.
National Council on Patient Information and Education
NCPIE is a coalition of over 125 diverse organizations whose mission is to stimulate and improve communication of information on appropriate medicine use to consumers and healthcare professionals.
Patient Safety & Quality Healthcare
Free patient safety journal.
Quackwatch
Quackwatch, Inc., is a nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Its primary focus is on quackery-related information that is difficult or impossible to get elsewhere. Founded by Dr. Stephen Barrett in 1969 as the Lehigh Valley Committee Against Health Fraud, it was incorporated in 1970.
Questions are the Answer
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Clinicians, the Government, and many other groups are working hard to improve health care quality, but it's a team effort. You can improve your care and the care of your loved ones by taking an active role in your health care. Ask questions. Understand your condition. Evaluate your options.

Patient Harms:

Wrong-Site, Wrong-Procedure, and Wrong-Patient Surgery
Patient safety primer
Speak Up Preventing Surgical Errors
The Joint Commission
SAFER Guides

About Medication Errors
NCC MERP
Medication Errors
MedlinePlus
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Medication errors in nursing: Common types, causes, and prevention
Medcom

Diagnostic Errors
Patient safety primer
Reducing Diagnostic Errors
Health Leaders
Diagnostic Safety and Quality
AHRQ

Healthcare-associated Infections (HAI)
CDC summary of select HAIs across four healthcare settings; acute care hospitals (ACHs), inpatient rehabilitation facilities (IRFs),long-term acute care hospitals (LTACHs) and critical access hospitals (CAHs).