Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN-BSN)

This guide contains helpful information for those students enrolled in the RN-BSN Program at Goodwin University

How to Find Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

What does "peer reviewed" mean? What's the difference between a peer reviewed, scholarly article and a popular article?

A peer reviewed article is reviewed by subject experts before being approved for publication in order to ensure that it meets specific criteria and standards. Academic journals that use peer review in their selection process are generally considered to be of higher quality and more trustworthy than those that don’t use the peer review process.

Popular articles are found in sources intended for a general audience, and they are often available freely online. Examples include Time magazine, The New York Times and The Huffington Post.

When conducting academic research, your professors will often require you to use only scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles.

How do I find peer reviewed articles?

You can find peer reviewed articles by searching our databases. Most databases give you the option to select for peer reviewed articles when conducting your search. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box to ensure all the articles in your search results come from peer reviewed journals.

Getting the Articles

CINAHL and other library databases may link directly to the full article via PDF/HTML full-text links, such as:

               - OR -         HTML Full Text available

 If there are no full-text links in a database citation to an article:

Use Full Text FinderFull Text Finder  (or Check for Availability) to access the article via one of the following library services:

  1. Full text available via - link should lead to full article immediately accessible online via library service.
  2. Request a copy this item via Interlibrary Loan. The library can retrieve online copies of most articles for you within 1-7 business days after you submit a request
  3. Send your citation to a Librarian - Send the publication information to a librarian for help with accessing that article/item or other research materials.