Course Required Readings - NUR 363 - Clinical Nursing Leadership

Librarian Resources

Disruptive innovation and the changing face of healthcare
Five ways to help millennials develop soft skills
A New Mindset for Quality and Safety: The QSEN Competencies Redefine Nurses’ Roles in Practice
Quantum leadership: upside down
Human beings are intentionally directed energy. Leadership offers direction and purpose to that nationally.
Science and intuition: do both have a place in clinical decision making? Intuition is widely used in clinical decision making yet its use is underestimated compared to scientific decision-making methods. Information processing is used within scientific decision making and is methodical and analytical, whereas intuition relies more on a practitioner's perception. Intuition is an unconscious process and may be referred to as a 'sixth sense', 'hunch' or 'gut feeling'.
Naturalistic decision making in after-action review meetings: The implementation of and learning from post-fall huddles. The purpose of this study was to add to our understanding of naturalistic decision making (NDM) in health care and how after-action reviews (AARs) can be utilized as a learning tool to reduce errors. The study focused on the implementation of a specific form of AAR, a post-fall huddle, to learn from errors and reduce patient falls.

More patients are taking home recordings of their doctor visits. But who else could listen?
Sentinel Event Alert 57: The essential role of leadership in developing a safety culture
In any health care organization, leadership’s first priority is to be accountable for effective care while protecting the safety of patients, employees, and visitors. Competent and thoughtful leaders contribute to improvements in safety and organizational culture. They understand that systemic flaws exist and each step in a care process has the potential for failure simply because humans make mistakes.
Violence, Incivility & Bullying
Workplace Violence in Healthcare: Strategies for Advocacy

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.
AJN - American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new window
After following the link, if you land on a login page, please enter the following user ID and password to access the content:
User: good999
Password: library

This resource has limited access. You may receive a message about "trying again later" if others are logged in.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.