Module 3 - Disorders of Endocrine System - NUR 309 - Principles of Pathophysiology

Assistant Director of Library Services

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me directly by phone or via email. Chat now! will put you in contact with all of the available Librarians.

One Riverside Drive | East Hartford, CT 06118

860-913-2066

Subjects: ABSN, Business Administration, Citation, Funeral Service, Masters in Education, Masters Organizational Leadership (MSOL), MSN, NP / FNP, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Research/Metaliteracy, RN-to-BSN

Required Resources

Endocrine System Disorders Resources

Diabetes - A Global Challenge - Clinical Manifestation of Diabetes and Treatment Part 1

Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
ISBN: 9781496306937
Publication Date: 2015-11-03

Textbook of Endocrine Physiology by William J. Kovacs (Editor); Sergio R. Ojeda (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
ISBN: 9780199744121
Publication Date: 2011-11-11

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital database of greater than 1,000 full text, high-quality reference books. A great place to start.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
One of the major organizations under the federal government health and Human Services Department. Their mission includes health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats. Use the A-Z Index.

Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Reports of clinical trials in health and medicine.

Hormone Health Network
Works toward educating the public about "prevention, treatment, and cure of hormone-related conditions."
InnerBody

Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
Anatomy app from Wolters-Kluwer. See our guide here for information on how to use/download for free. Includes 3-D anatomy models and gross anatomy labs.

Endocrine Pathology Index
View images of pathological findings for organs in the endocrine system for a variety of diseases.
Endocrinology Cases
A blog for cases put together by Dr. Om J Lakhani, an endocrinologist and professor.
MedlinePlus Diabetes
Information about diabetes from NIH.
Online MedEd Endocrine
Register for free to access unlimited videos in the digital library and student study resources.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
The most current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information available. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Resource for nursing and allied health literature.

Case Reports in Endocrinology
a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes case reports and case series related to the endocrine system and its associated diseases.
Endocrine Reviews
publishes bimonthly, including concise timely reviews updating key mechanistic and clinical concepts, as well as more comprehensive, authoritative review articles spanning both experimental and clinical endocrinology themes

Medical Cases on Endocrine Topics

Medical clinical cases are found in a variety of places. The websites listed above direct you to some sources. Other cases can be found by using the library databases.

Open MEDLINE Full Text
Type "Case Reports" in the first search box (or select case reports under publication type)
Type "endocrine" in the second search box
Check Full Text
Click Search

You can also try searching for "case reports" with diabetes as the second search term.

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.