Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NUR 309 - Principles of Pathophysiology

Resources for students examining the general principles of pathophysiology.

This Course Guide identifies tools and resources for researching topics in Pathophysiology. Use the tabs on the side to browse the various tools and resources available.

Below you will find information and links to resources that will help you with the research process.

path·o·phys·i·ol·o·gy

: the physiology of abnormal states; specfifically :

the functional changes that accompany a particular syndrome or disease

(from merriam-webster.com)

Reference Resources and Reading List

Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas

Anatomy app from Wolters-Kluwer. See our guide here for information on how to use/download for free. Includes 3-D anatomy models and gross anatomy labs.

CINAHL Complete

Resource for nursing and allied health literature.

UpToDate

The most current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information available. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.

MEDLINE with Full Text

The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.

AJN - American Journal of Nursing

After following the link, if you land on a login page, please enter the following user ID and password to access the content:
User: good999
Password: library

This resource has limited access. You may receive a message about "trying again later" if others are logged in.

RB 113 .P45 2013

New York Times

The paper of record. This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.

QP 38 .L74 2013

Science Reference Center

This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

UpToDate Librarian Tip!

Search by name rather than acronym - transient ischemic attack rather than TIA, gastroesophageal reflux disease rather than GERD; clostridium difficile rather than C. diff.

Search alternate names if you don't get results - interstitial lung diseases, interstitial pneumonitis, or diffuse parenchymal lung diseases; 3rd degree heart block, or 3rd-degree atrioventricular block, or complete heart block.

Insert AND between concepts for more results - epidemiology AND sickle cell anemia; management AND compartment syndromes.