This popular book demystifies literature reviewing and answers the questions students have about how to tackle the process.
This Course Guide identifies tools and resources for researching topics in Pathophysiology. Use the tabs on the side to browse the various tools and resources available.
Below you will find information and links to resources that will help you with the research process.
: the physiology of abnormal states; specfifically :
the functional changes that accompany a particular syndrome or disease
(from merriam-webster.com)
Anatomy app from Wolters-Kluwer. See our guide here for information on how to use/download for free. Includes 3-D anatomy models and gross anatomy labs.
Resource for nursing and allied health literature.
The most current, evidence-based, physician-authored and peer reviewed clinical information available. Over 10,500 topics in 22 specialties.
The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.
After following the link, if you land on a login page, please enter the following user ID and password to access the content:
User: good999
Password: library
This resource has limited access. You may receive a message about "trying again later" if others are logged in.
RB 113 .P45 2013
The paper of record. This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.
QP 38 .L74 2013
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Search by name rather than acronym - transient ischemic attack rather than TIA, gastroesophageal reflux disease rather than GERD; clostridium difficile rather than C. diff.
Search alternate names if you don't get results - interstitial lung diseases, interstitial pneumonitis, or diffuse parenchymal lung diseases; 3rd degree heart block, or 3rd-degree atrioventricular block, or complete heart block.
Insert AND between concepts for more results - epidemiology AND sickle cell anemia; management AND compartment syndromes.
Content: A point-of-care, evidence-based clinical resource.
Purpose: Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.
Special Features: You will be prompted to create an account the first time you log into UpToDate that will allow you to search UpToDate and save reports using the default windows in Chrome or Firefox. The registration link might not work if you use a Chrome incognito window or Firefox private window. Students must be enrolled in selective Nursing program for access.