LibGuides: History: Library Databases

History Research

The following databases are the most popular for history research and contain a variety of primary and secondary source materials. Some search tips are as follows:

For primary sources (especially newspapers), use the terminology common during the time period you're studying; for example, terms like "African American" or "Native American" were not in usage until more recent history.
Use synonyms for your keywords (ex. try "dog" and "canine")
Look at the subject terms in your search results; these are usually hyperlinks and can help you find other resources on your topic
Don't limit your search to only one database or set of search results

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today's leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual's life and work.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Full access for Goodwin University students, faculty, and staff to the entire run of the New York Times, as well as Times in Education.