LibGuides: Human Services: Counseling and Addiction

Key Resources:

ERIC: Education Resource Information Center

Content: Government (Department of Education) database focusing on education research and information.
Purpose: Excellent database to use for all topics in education.
Special Features: After an initial search, filter by audience, grade level, survey used, and main topic. Includes a thesaurus to aid in the discovery process.
APA PsycINFO
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.

VAST
is a a multidisciplinary collection of videos including a wide range of topics including social sciences, counseling, social work, education, health sciences. The videos are accompanied by transcripts.

Finding academic articles:

The best way of finding relevant articles for your papers is by searching relevant databases or Google Scholar.

You must identify keywords for your search. As you do your searching, you might find better or more accurate keywords in article titles or by reading the abstracts. Modifying your search is part of the process.

When you find relevant articles, read the reference list or bibliography. Since the authors are required to review the relevant research, they have already gathered previous articles on the same and related subjects.

You can access the full-text of the article by clicking on the link that says Full Text or PDF. You can then print the article, email it to yourself, or save it to your computer or flashdrive (some databases will allow you to crewate your own pesonal account - EBSCO and ProQuest)

You can download or email the citation to yourself. Be sure to edit the citation to fit APA style for your own reference list.