LibGuides: Human Services: Books, Ebooks, and more!

Books, E-Books, & More

eBooks
OER Content

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy (Editor); Antony J. Chapman (Editor); Wendy A. Conroy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849723398
Publication Date: 2008-09-05
The Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness by Philip David Zelazo (Editor); Morris Moscovitch (Editor); Evan Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521857437
Publication Date: 2007-05-14
The Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness is the first of its kind in the field, and its appearance marks a unique time in the history of intellectual inquiry on the topic. After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years. There are now so many different lines of investigation on consciousness that the time has come when the field may finally benefit from a book that pulls them together and, by juxtaposing them, provides a comprehensive survey of this exciting field. An authoritative desk reference, which will also be suitable as an advanced textbook.
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour by Alan Lewis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521856652
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behaviour for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics. The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour is a valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour. Employing empirical methods - including laboratory experiments, field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews - the Handbook covers aspects of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment and biological perspectives.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471220367
Publication Date: 2004-04-19
Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by qualityresearchers and practitioners in psychology and relatedfields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensivecross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by J E Roeckelein (Editor)
ISBN: 9780444517500
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
In attempting to understand and explain various behaviour, events, and phenomena in their field, psychologists have developed and enunciated an enormous number of 'best guesses' or theories concerning the phenomenon in question. Such theories involve speculations and statements that range on a potency continuum from 'strong' to 'weak'. The term theory, itself, has been conceived of in various ways in the psychological literature. In the present dictionary, the strategy of lumping together all the various traditional descriptive labels regarding psychologists 'best guesses' under the single descriptive term theory has been adopted. The descriptive labels of principle, law, theory, model, paradigm, effect, hypothesis and doctrine are attached to many of the entries, and all such descriptive labels are subsumed under the umbrella term theory.The title of this dictionary emphasizes the term theory (implying both strong and weak best guesses) and is a way of indication, overall, the contents of this comprehensive dictionary in a parsimonious and felicitous fashion.The dictionary will contain approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts. Terms and definitions are in English.
Handbook of Forensic Mental Health with Victims and Offenders by David W. Springer; Albert R. Roberts
ISBN: 9780826115140
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Together for the first time; all your forensic social work best practice needs in one volume ...a vitally important addition to this emerging and essential body of knowledge. This compelling publication places between two covers a broad collection of informative, original essays on core issues in forensic social work. This engaging volume offers readers keen insights into forensic practice related to child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, suicide, psychiatric care and mental illness, juvenile justice, adult corrections, addictions, trauma, and restorative justice.
Key Thinkers in Psychology by Rom Harre
ISBN: 9781412903455
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
The 20th Century was rich in attempts to characterize and explain psychological phenomena and so to understand the human mind. These projects were undertaken by a huge and diverse list of characters from B F Skinner to James Gibson, from Gordon Allport to Hans Eysenck. It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'. This book achieves this in the most accessible and engaging manner possible. Rom Harré presents a unique textbook orientation, combining the biopic with the significance of the major protagonists of the last century, organized by 'schools of thought', yet with cross-references throughout the text.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Gale Research Inc (Other)
ISBN: 9780028666587
Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Morals, Rights and Practice in the Human Services by Tony Ward; Marie Connolly
ISBN: 9781843104865
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Work within the human services is increasingly influenced by rights-based thinking, and this book offers advice for the practitioner on how to translate abstract rights theory into their everyday practice. The book outlines the theory that underpins human rights and outlines the ethical debates and dilemmas that frequently surround them. It also provides a practical model that outlines how to embed human rights theory within practice and the professional decision-making process. Drawing extensively on real-life case examples, the book includes chapters on rights-based work with different client groups including offenders, people with intellectual disabilities, immigrants and refugees, and children and families. This important book will be a useful source of guidance and advice for professionals working across the human services, including those in social care, health and justice settings.

Instruction in Functional Assessment by Marcie Desrochers; Marcie Desrocher; Moira Fallon
ISBN: 9780989722674
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
Instruction in Functional Assessment introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches (indirect, observational, and experimental) for identifying the cause of an individual's challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments. FA is mandated by federal law and is a recognized empirically based approach to treatment of individuals with challenging behaviors (e.g., disruptive, self-injurious, and aggressive behaviors). Instruction in FA is essential for students who will one day enter professions as educators, psychologists, social workers, counselors, or mental health professionals. The purpose of this textbook is to provide instruction in FA skills for pre-professionals in the fields of education and psychology. This supplemental resource provides the context, background, and knowledge to facilitate students' acquisition of the methods, decision-making, and skills involved in conducting FA. Each chapter begins with focus questions designed to promote reflective thinking and ends with discussion questions. To promote application of FA in diverse situations and teach important lessons, case studies of individuals with challenging behaviors, interactive activities, and opportunities for practice are embedded in the chapters. Moreover, the text includes the ingredients to facilitate students' role play and rehearsal of appropriate FA skills while working in cooperative groups and using performance-based training.

Introduction to Community Psychology
This textbook will show you how to comprehensively analyze, investigate, and address escalating problems of economic inequality, violence, substance abuse, homelessness, poverty, and racism. It will provide you with perspectives and tools to partner with community members and organizations to promote a fair and equitable allocation of resources and opportunities. Please email us at openaccesscptextbook@gmail.com with any feedback or to request downloadable versions of the chapter lecture slides and quizzes for instructor use.
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness