LibGuides: Human Services: Databases

Database Tips!!

Keywords are words that you select to search for articles on your topic. You can use "natural language" words to describe your topic

Subject Terms/Subject Headings are search terms that are assigned to a specific database and is a great way to refien your results! Remember, if you find one book or article on your topic, you can click on the subject link to do a new search on the same subject.

Suggested Databases - Our Top Picks!

Articles found using our databases are guaranteed to be scholarly peer-reviewed!! For effective searching, please try these tips:

Brainstorm a variety of keywords (low-income, income level, poverty, social class)
To narrow your search, connect the keywords with AND (poverty AND education AND achievement)
To broaden your search, use OR to search for synonyms (poverty OR low-income AND education)
To search for a phrase use quotes ("social inequality")

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.