Simple Tips for Searching the Databases
and – use this to narrow your search results. Typing in the terms anorexia AND bulimia will retrieve articles that have both of those terms.
or – use this to expand your search results. Typing in cats OR dogs will retrieve articles that have at least one of the terms. Also, use this if there might be different ways to enter a term: IBM OR “International Business Machines” or Canine OR Dog
asterisk (*) - use the asterisk to find all forms of a search term. For example the search term book* will find books, booked, booker, booking, bookkeeper etc..
quotation marks – use quotation marks to search for exact phrase. For example the database will recognize “study skills” as words being together instead of apart.
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Citations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for the layman, offering free and authoritative current health and medical information. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues in everyday language. Use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on drugs (by generic or brand name) and supplements, learn the meanings of medical terms, or view medical videos and illustrations. Includes links to the latest medical research on numerous topics and information on clinical trials, and interactive tutorials on diseases, diagnostic tests, preventive medicine and surgeries. Also available here are anatomy videos in English and Spanish, from the A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia and other sources. QuickTime player is required for some videos. Mobile Access: All MedlinePlus content is now available in both English and Spanish versions, at http://m.medlineplus.gov and http://m.medlineplus.gov/espanol.
Search and view more than 250,000 eBooks in this large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. The breadth of information available through this collection ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.