Delivers real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious disease!
Below are links to individual databases that are recommended for Epidemiology. Each database holds citation, abstract or full-text links to journal articles:
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature. AI research assistant on the full text page with key takeaways.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
It is important to analyze your topic and select the keywords that are relevant to your topic before beginning your search.
When searching, start with a broad search using one or two keywords that are relevant to your topic, using the limiters in the database to reduce your results.
Break your search terms up, entering one word into a search box and combine these single word searches by using the tools of the database.
Truncation - By using truncation for example, epidem* in your search strategy, will retrieve results that include every word starting with the wordstem before the *
The Coming Plague: newly emerging diseases in a world out of balance / by 
The Hot Zone by Search and view more than 250,000 eBooks in this large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. The breadth of information available through this collection ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
