Koha is now the home of digital archival material and digital special collections. Therefore, we need to create modified MARC records for items in these collections so they will appear in the catalog and in Single Search.
Step 1: Create a new MARC record by going to “Cataloging,” and then clicking on “New Record.” Choose the default framework.
Step 2: Catalog the record. Here are the fields to fill in, if applicable.
000 – Leader (click on field, it will populate automatically)
003 – Control number identifier (click on field, it will populate automatically)
005 – Date and time of latest transaction (click on field, it will populate automatically)
008 – Fixed-length data elements – general information (click on field, it will populate automatically)
040c – Transcribing Agency. Enter: “GC” for Goodwin College
100a – Main entry—personal name. Enter first/primary author name in the following format: Lastname, Firstname I. To add additional authors, use the 
button to clone the tag.
245a – Title.
260a – PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, ETC. (IMPRINT). The place name is East Hartford, CT for any work created here at Goodwin and not published first elsewhere.
260b – PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, ETC. (IMPRINT). The name of publisher is Goodwin College for any work created here at Goodwin and not published first elsewhere.
264c -- PRODUCTION, PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, MANUFACTURE, AND COPYRIGHT NOTICE. Enter any copyright notice here. Used only for non-standard copyrights like open access, creative commons, etc.
440a – Series Statement/Added Entry—Title. We are using the series tag as a way to create clickable collections links. Click on the 
button at the end of the tag entry text box to create a series tag. You will be given an option to search and find one. Current collections are:
Goodwin College Faculty Publications
Goodwin College Photographs – Campus and Buildings
Goodwin College Photographs – Student Life
Goodwin College General Education Student Publications
Goodwin College Health and Natural Sciences Student Publications
Goodwin College Social and Educational Sciences Student Publications
Goodwin College Business and Management Student Publications
Goodwin College Nursing Student Publications
Goodwin College – Academic Reports
More will be added as the collection grows.
500 – General note. Any misc. information can go here or in the 505 tag. Ex.: A student paper that was done for a specific class can have the class and professor listed here.
520a – Summary, etc. Please add in any abstract or summary of the work here.
856u – Electronic Location and Access / Uniform Resource Identifier. Click on the button at the end of the text box to choose a file to upload.
856y – Electronic Location and Access / Link text. Enter what the link to the file should say. PDF Full Text is good for any PDF. If the file is a .zip file containing many documents, form the link text this way: 4 digital photos: click to download a .zip file of the photos or 39 PDFs: Click to download a .zip file of the PDFs.
942c – Koha item type. The item type for all items added to the archives/special collections is “Archival Material.”
Step 3: Click “Save” when you are done with the MARC record. You will be taken into an item creation screen.
Step 4: Create an item. Important things about the item:
8 “Collection Code” should be “Archival Material.”
8a & b The permanent and current location should both be changed to “Goodwin College Archives and Special Collections.”
8c “Shelving Location” should be “Goodwin College Digital Archive.”
8d “Date Acquired” can be today’s date.
8y “Koha Item Type” should be “Archival Material.”
Step 5: Save the item. The item will appear above.
Step 6: Add images. Look to the left hand side and find the “Normal” tab, so you can see the full record in the Koha staff view. Find the “Edit” button and locate “Upload Image” to add an image. All archival materials must have at least one image. If your record is for a number of images, add them all here. If it’s a faculty/student publication, add the appropriate image for each collection. The images are currently located at L:\Academic Services\Archives and Special Collections.
The images may take a few minutes to display properly in the OPAC search.