When researching nursing theories at the Hoffman Family Library, we recommend that you start with the following databases:
Citations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
This database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today's leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual's life and work.
Like the catalog, the periodical databases use formal Subject Headings. Knowing these search terms for your topic will be helpful in retrieving the most relevant articles. To get you started on individual theorists and their theories, the list below contains the headings used by the CINAHL database. You can use these in either the Subject or Keyword searching.
THEORIST/THEORY