The following databases will help you with your research on exceptional children/special education:
Content: Government (Department of Education) database focusing on education research and information.
Purpose: Excellent database to use for all topics in education.
Special Features: After an initial search, filter by audience, grade level, survey used, and main topic. Includes a thesaurus to aid in the discovery process.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.
Content: Citations and some full-text scholarly articles covering K-12 assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science and mathematics.
Purpose: Serves as a complimentary research database for teachers.
To locate resources on exceptional learners and special education consult the library catalogue - KOHA
Relevant Library of Congress subject headings (LCSH) include:
| Abused Children | Autistic Children |
| Autistic children--Education | Autism in children |
| Behavioral Assessment of Children |
Child development deviations |
| Children with disabilities | Children with mental disabilities |
| Children with social disabilities | Chronically ill children |
| Deaf children -- Education | Developmental Disabilities |
| Developmentally disabled children | Early Childhood Special Education |
| Exceptioinal Children | Gifted Children |
| Gifted children--Education | Inclusive Education |
| Language disorders in children | Learning disabled children |
| Learning disabled youth |
Learning disabilities |
| Mainstreaming in education | Mental retardation |
| People with mental disabilities | People with social disabilities |
| Problem Children | Remedial teaching |
| Special Education | Students with disabilities |
| Speech Disorders |
Teaching Able, Gifted and Talented Children: Strategies, Activities and Resources
by
The Praeger Handbook of Special Education
by
Educating Everybody's Children: Diverse Teaching Strategies for Diverse Learners
by
