Use this search box to find articles and books on literature and literary criticism.
When researching a psychology topic, the Libraries recommend starting with the ProQuest Psychology database.
Many of our databases include an "Advanced Searching" option: use it to quickly and easily improve the accuracy of your searches and get fewer but higher quality search results.
Search Tips:
This multi-disciplinary, full-text database is designed specifically for academic institutions. This collection of 3,865 full-text, scholarly publications provides journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: Government (Department of Education) database focusing on education research and information.
Purpose: Excellent database to use for all topics in education.
Special Features: After an initial search, filter by audience, grade level, survey used, and main topic. Includes a thesaurus to aid in the discovery process.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for the layman, offering free and authoritative current health and medical information. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues in everyday language. Use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on drugs (by generic or brand name) and supplements, learn the meanings of medical terms, or view medical videos and illustrations. Includes links to the latest medical research on numerous topics and information on clinical trials, and interactive tutorials on diseases, diagnostic tests, preventive medicine and surgeries. Also available here are anatomy videos in English and Spanish, from the A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia and other sources. QuickTime player is required for some videos. Mobile Access: All MedlinePlus content is now available in both English and Spanish versions, at http://m.medlineplus.gov and http://m.medlineplus.gov/espanol.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes.
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles.
Not sure of a topic for a research paper? Browse through some of the topics listed below:
