Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NUR 205 - Health Assessment & Skill Development

What are health assessments?

What are health assessments? What do they do? Who uses them?

Providers perform health assessments on patients to evaluate levels of health, including function and cognition. Health assessments can aid in determining the appropriate level of care and treatment needed by a patient. Health assessments may also be called tests, exams, measures, etc.

Course Reserves and Additional Materials

Course Reserves

Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas

Anatomy app from Wolters-Kluwer. See our guide here for information on how to use/download for free. Includes 3-D anatomy models and gross anatomy labs.

Academic Writer (Formerly known as APA Style Central)

A resource produced by the American Psychological Association, the creator of APA Style. It provides all the tools necessary to create properly formatted references and papers. Individual user accounts are not needed to access the Learning Center, but they are required to create and save references. Off-campus: Best viewed in Chrome, Firefox or Safari. Will not work with Internet Explorer!

CINAHL Complete

Resource for nursing and allied health literature.

MEDLINE with Full Text

The premier full-text medical database. Contains scholarly articles on all health sciences topics.

Tutorial Toolbox

Use these tutorials to learn how to get the most of our subscription databases

Where do I find the data on the health of my community?

Finding sources for demographic and health statistics can be very challenging. Here are some general tips to keep in mind:

  • Federal, state and local governments collect health data. Many federal agencies collect data at the state and even county and municipal level, so the federal government can be a great source for local statistics.
  • Some statistics are collected regularly, some only occasionally. In general, expect a lag time of at least one year before most statistics are published. Also, expect some gaps and discrepancies.
  • Statistics are not regularly collected for all areas or topics. Data on some chronic conditions and health behaviors may be difficult to locate because there is no law mandating the reporting of this information to local health departments (not "notifiable diseases").
  • Become familiar with some major data collection efforts such as Healthy People 2020.
  • When browsing web sites, look for categories such as publications and reports as well as statistics and data.
  • Use a good Internet search engine, such as Google, when you are looking for more obscure data.
  • Having difficulty finding what you need?  One of our librarians would be happy to work with you!  Simply contact us through our Ask a Librarian service, tell us a little about what information you're seeking and we'll go from there.