Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PubMed

My NCBI

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides the My NCBI tool to users free of charge. Creating an account and signing in allows a user to:

  • Save searches, collections of citations, and author bibliographies
  • Share citations
  • Set automatic email updates of searches
  • Create customized filtering options and group search results
  • Apply Site Preferences to change display formate, highlight search terms, share filter settings, etc.

PubMed Filters

My NCBI (the place in PubMed where you can save searches, create collections of citations, etc.) has a feature allows you to customize your filters for any of the databases. To create your own filter, simply log in to your My NCBI account (or create one... it only takes a moment) and click on the My NCBI link. In the filters box, choose the database you would like to set up the filter for. In this case, PubMed. Click "Add Filters for the selected database" or "Manage Filters."  Click on the "Create Custom Filter" box. You'll be asked to enter your own search strategy for your filter. This can be one term or multiple terms and should NOT include History search statement numbers.

For a filter to be effective, the search strategy should include field tags. For example, a filter for articles in BMJ, JAMA and NEJM would have the search strategy: "BMJ (Clinical research ed.)"[Jour] OR "JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association"[Jour] OR "The New England journal of medicine"[Jour]. The best way to get the field tags is to run your search in PubMed, then copy the strategy off the Search Details and then paste it back into the Custom Filters area mentioned above.

Once you've created your custom filter, you'll need to place a checkmark next to it to add it to your list. Note that you can add up to 15 filters for PubMed and 5 for all other databases.

Full instructions appear
online. If you need assistance creating your search strategy for your filter, please call, email, or IM the reference librarians.

Reference Librarians are here to help!

Profile Photo
Cynthia Hunt
Contact:
Contact me directly by phone or via email. Chat now! will put you in contact with all of the available Librarians.

One Riverside Drive | East Hartford, CT 06118
860-913-2066
Website