Databases - History - Slavery and the Slave Trade - LibGuides at Goodwin University

HFL Research Databases:

These are the most commonly used databases for historical research on the different regions of the world. These are excellent electronic collections of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, etc. which can be accessed even if you are off-campus with your BlackBoard username and password. Several of these databases provide full text articles while some offer only abstracts.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
European Views of the America's, 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Freely Available Databases

Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally, 1764-1765 (Brown University)
Legacies of British Slave Ownership (University College - London)
Traces the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain and the significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833.
Georgetown Slavery Archive (Georgetown University)
"A repository of materials relating to the Maryland Jesuits, Georgetown University, and slavery," supported by the Georgetown University Working Group on Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation. This project has recently been discussed in the New York Times, which helped to connect Louisiana descendants of slaves sold by the Jesuits in 1838 to fund Georgetown University with the history of their ancestors.