What is historical criticism?
Historical criticism is the historical approach to literary criticism. It involves looking beyond the literature at the broader historical and cultural events occurring during the time the piece was written. An understanding of the world the author lived in (events, ideologies, culture, lifestyle etc.) allows for a more comprehensive understanding of the work.
Read & Ask Questions
Begin Your Research
Here is where you will gather all the information necessary to understand the text based on its historical context. You will want to begin your research by looking at the time period in which the work was written. Elements of the time period include:
A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
This database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today's leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual's life and work.
This database offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Full access for Goodwin University students, faculty, and staff to the entire run of the New York Times, as well as Times in Education.
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
