Welcome to the Research Starter for BUS 410!
If you have never done a research project before, you may be wondering where to start! Knowing how to identify and assess scholarly information and apply it to your practice is an important skill in this profession. As part of your studies you will have various tasks and assignments that require you to work with the library resources. What resources should you use and how do you search them? This course guide will help you get started with finding research articles. Determining the answers to the questions above can be challenging, but by using this course guide you will be on your way! In this guide, you will learn:
It is easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available, and you can waste time if you look in the wrong place. For specific assistance finding articles for your upcoming assignment, please contact your Business Librarian (Ann Harper), 860-913-2099, aharper@goodwin.edu You can find them on the 1st Floor of the Hoffman Family Library. Drop in and visit for quick reference assistance. For in-depth one-on-one and small group assistance, please schedule an appointment in advance.
In the event that they are unavailable, feel free to contact another librarian at the Hoffman Family Library: 860-913-2042.
Common terms you may come across related to research:
| Abstract | An article summary that is helpful in determining if an article will be relevant for your research. It will also help you understand the importance of the article before you read it. |
| Bias |
Prejudice or the lack of neutrality; A systematic deviation from the truth that affects the conclusions and occurs in the process or design of the research. |
| Database | A search engine (paid library subscription) |
| Data Collection | Acquiring existing information or developing new information |
| Embargo | When some recent articles available from a journal are not available electronically. This may differ based upon the publication, but can affect the most recent year - 5 years of articles. If you need an article that the Hoffman Family Library doesn't subscribe to, you can request it for free! |
| Research | It is a systematic, formal, rigorous, and precise process used to gain solutions to problems or discover and interpret new facts and relationships. |
| Survey | Nonexperimental, focuses on obtaining information regarding status quo of situation through direct questioning |
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics periodicals. It offers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
The Business Source Complete database contains both practical and scholarly business information. You can search Business Source Complete for full text scholarly journal articles, case studies, company profiles, reports, conference papers, financial data, and SWOT analyses.
The Wall Street Journal is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
Business and Management researchers are interested in business-related phenomena, in contexts from commercial businesses to NGOs and charities, to the administrations of schools and hospitals. Areas of interest to researchers include studies of leadership, organizational behavior, and human resource management. Case study methods have a long tradition in Business and Management research, and action or participatory research approaches allow researchers and participants to impact the organization they are working in. For an introduction to doing Business and Management research, try Doing Management Research.
Doing Management Research by 
The Essentials of Business Research Methods by 
HD 30.4 | .S28 2015
Available from Course Reserves
HD 30.4 | .S435 2016
Research Methods for Business: A Skill-Building Approach is a concise and straightforward introduction for students to the world of business research. The skill-building approach provides students with practical perspectives on how research can be applied in real business situations.
An Overview
Guide for creating and using Academic Writer
eBook
Increasingly, managers must make decisions based on almost unlimited information. How can they navigate and organize this vast amount of data? Essentials of Business Research Methods provides research techniques for people who aren't data analysts.
