The following databases provide detailed information on companies including overview, history, financial, key personnel, annual reports, and much, much more!
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics periodicals. It offers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
The Business Source Complete database contains both practical and scholarly business information. You can search Business Source Complete for full text scholarly journal articles, case studies, company profiles, reports, conference papers, financial data, and SWOT analyses.
The Wall Street Journal is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
The information that you find on a particular company will depend on the following factors:
Publicly held companies are required to file financial reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission. These reports along with the websites of these companies can provide you with a wealth of information.
Privately held companies provided financial information at their own discretion. The smaller the company or business, the less information may be available
NAICS / SIC
The North American Industry Classification System and the Standard Industrial Classification are both numeric codes used to identify particular industries
SWOT
An analysis of the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats (SWOT) of a company, project, or business venture. Strengths and Weaknesses are internal and Opportunities and Threats are external
Identify and Profile the Company
You'll want information on the company and its line of business, history and leadership. Determine whether it is a public or private company.
Company profiles provide background information and often identify major competitors. Some sources may include analysis of a company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats or other forecasts.
Visit the Company's Website
Find Current News and Articles about the Company
Articles in the business press are likely to give you insights into a company's current operations, strategy, performance and competition. Article databases can be used to find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals that cover business topics. There are also many publicly-available websites devoted to business news.
Examine the Company's Financial Filings and Market Performance
Survey the Industry and Competition