Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Persistent Links/Permalinks

Instructions for locating article and ebook permalinks in the Hoffman Family Library's databases.

EBSCOHost

Persistent links are called "permalinks" in the EBSCO databases.

Not all articles in the EBSCO databases are available full-text online. If the article is not available in EBSCO, click on the FullText Finder to see if it is available from another database. If so, use that URL to direct students to the article. Creating a persistent link will only work for those articles that are available full-text in the EBSCO database.

After you run a search in the database, click on the title of the article to which you want to create a persistent link.

Click on the "permalink" icon on the right side of the screen.

  1. Click on the Permalink link, which has a paperclip icon.
    EBSCO record page - pointing to "Permalink" link
  2. A small box should appear above the source's title. Click on the URL to highlight it. Copy the link using Control-C for PC or Command-C for Mac. Or you can right-click on the highlighted URL and select “Copy.” Paste the link into the discussion board, a Word document, etc.
    EBSCO record page - showing the "Permalink" link and box that opens
  3. Click on the X at the top-right corner to close the box.
    EBSCO record page - showing how to close the "Permalink" box

How to find the permalink in an EBSCO search results page:

  1. When you have a list of search results that you want to send to yourself or someone else, look at the right side of the page.
    EBSCO search results page
  2. Click on the Share button to open the drop-down menu. The last option will show the permalink, which should be highlighted. (If it isn't fully highlighted, click outside the URL, then click on the permalink once to highlight the full URL.)
    EBSCO search results page pointing to "Share" button
  3. Copy the link using Control-C for PC or Command-C for Mac. Or you can right-click on the highlighted URL and select "Copy." Paste the link into the discussion board, a Word document, etc.
    EBSCO search results page - permalink
  4. Click outside the drop-down menu to close it.
    EBSCO search results page - show how to exit "Share" button menu