Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics

A general subject guide for economics

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

eBook

The Routledge Dictionary of Economics, now in its third edition, provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. The book is perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields is essential.

eBook

This fourth edition of the popular and bestselling Collins Dictionary of Economics has been thoroughly revised for the new millennium, and is a valuable reference book not just for students of economics, but for anyone studying economics as part of a business or social science course.

eBook

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics explains a host of economic terms, from acceleration principle to venture capital, Euro to X-efficiency, globalisation to zero-sum game.

eBook

An up-to-date authoritative reference designed primarily for students of economics but invaluable also to students of business and other social sciences and ideal for anyone who wants a brief explanation of an economic concept or institution. The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics is an up-to-date, authoritative reference designed primarily for students of business and other social sciences and ideal for anyone who wants a brief explanation of an economic concept or institution. 

Selected Titles from Your Librarian

Capital and the Common Good

eBook

Despite social and economic advances around the world, poverty and disease persist, exacerbated by the mounting challenges of climate change, natural disasters, political conflict, mass migration, and economic inequality. While governments commit to addressing these challenges, traditional public and philanthropic dollars are not enough...

Economics Today

HB 171.5 .M642 2011

Introduction - Macroeconomics and Economic Growth - Real GDP and Fiscal Policy - Money, Stabilization, and Growth - Microeconomics - Market Struction, Resource Allocation, and Regulation - Labor Resources and the Environment - Global Economics.

Ethical Asset Valuation

eBook

For all of their focus on asset prices, financial economists rarely ask if assets are priced ethically? that is, if their prices are compatible with the public good. Yet in a world facing major, possibly catastrophic problems? global warming, for instance, and growing inequality? it is now more important than ever that we allocate capital to projects that will benefit society as a whole, not just today but far into the future. 

Identity Economics

eBook

How identity influences the economic choices we make Identity Economics provides an important and compelling new way to understand human behavior, revealing how our identities--and not just economic incentives--influence our decisions...

Macroeconomics

HB172.5 | .A24 2011

This volume gives comprehensive coverage of the key topics of macroeconomics and it includes integration of classical and Keynesian approaches, in-depth coverage of two cases and extensive applications and examples.

Macroeconomics

HB 172.5 | .W55 2011

A modern approach to macroeconomics. Williamson's Macroeconomics uses a thoroughly modern approach by showing readers how to build macro economic models from micro economic principles. This approach helps to make the text consistent with the way macroeconomic research is conducted today. The fourth edition weaves the recent events of the financial crisis into the material.  

Principles of Economics

HB 171 .5 .T237 2014

Principles of Economics covers scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory economics course. The authors take a balanced approach to micro- and macroeconomics, to both Keynesian and classical views, and to the theory and application of economics concepts. The text also includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way.

The World in the Model

eBook

During the last two centuries, the way economic science is done has changed radically: it has become a social science based on mathematical models in place of words. This book describes and analyses that change - both historically and philosophically - using a series of case studies ...

Additional Resources

At What Price?

eBook

How well does the consumer price index (CPI) reflect the changes that people actually face in living costs "from apples to computers to health care? Given how it is used, is it desirable to construct the CPI as a cost-of-living index (COLI)? With what level of accuracy is it possible to construct a single index that represents changes in the living costs of the nation (TM)s diverse population?

Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture

eBook

The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world′s social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.

Game Theory and Economic Analysis

eBook

This book presents the huge variety of current contributions of game theory to economics. The impressive contributions fall broadly into two categories. Some lay out in a jargon free manner a particular branch of the theory, the evolution of one of its concepts, or a problem, that runs through its development. Others are original pieces of work that are significant to game theory as a whole. 

A Geography of Heritage

eBook

This new textbook explores the various components of heritage--how it may be defined, to whom it belongs, and its diverse cultural and economic roles and uses. This is the first overview to place heritage in a georaphical perspective. Studying heritage from global to local scales, it draws upon examples and case studies from around the world.