Databases - LUE 605 - Contemporary Issues in Urban Education

New York Times in Education

As part of Goodwin's access to the New York Times online, you also get free access to the New York Times in Education. This is a new resource to help both educators and students make the most of NYTimes.com’s digital 24/7 content. New content and teaching resources are added to this site on a weekly basis by Faculty Contributors from a variety of institutions.

Getting Started

Registration

Go to nytimes.com/edu
Click "Register" found in the upper right corner of the screen.
Enter your Goodwin email address.
Complete the registration form and click "Sign Up."
You should see a "Welcome" page when you have registered.

Databases for Education

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ERIC: Education Resource Information Center This link opens in a new window
Education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current information in the fields of psychology and psychiatry.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
MAS File - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text for key middle school magazines; primary source documents.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Full text elementary school magazines with reading level indicators.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Featuring a library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.